Jump to Main Content Jump to Secondary Content

Boards and Commissions

Chalfont Borough’s Boards and Commissions serve as advisory boards for Borough Council.  All meetings are open to the public.  Please view the Calendar for specific meeting dates and times.  Meetings are held in Borough Hall at 40 North Main Street, Chalfont, PA.  If interested in serving on one of our Boards or Commissions, please send a completed volunteer application and resume to info@chalfontborough.com

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of five members, headed by a chairman, and their duties include the review of all land use and construction plans.  Our Commission works with the Bucks County Planning Commission to develop uniformity between the Borough and the County.  Recommendations by the Planning Commission are then forwarded to Borough Council for review and action.  Members are appointed to a four-year term.  Chalfont Borough Planning Commission meets as needed on the 4th Monday of the month at 7:00 PM.

Historical Architectural Review Board

The function of the HARB is to maintain the unique architectural character of Chalfont.  The combination of Victorian, Craftsman, Gothic, and Second Empire edifices that can be seen in a short walk down Main Street are what set Chalfont apart.  Chalfont Borough HARB meets as needed on the 1st Monday of the month at 7:00 PM, when necessary.

Building Code Appeals Board

Meets as needed.  Current Board Members:
Osvil Acosta-Morales
Diane Cervasio
Gerit Lewisch, AIA
Robert Nase

Property Maintenance Code Appeals Board

Meets as needed.  Current Board Members:
Osvil Acosta-Morales
Janice Engel
Robert Nase
Thomas Scary

Zoning Hearing Board

The Zoning Hearing Board is a quasi-judicial body, consisting of three regular members and one alternate member, all of whom are residents of the Borough. Members are appointed by Council to serve three-year terms. During their tenure, members of the Zoning Hearing Board are not permitted to hold any other office in the municipality.

The Zoning Hearing Board is responsible for the following activities: hearing and deciding appeals from a decision or determination of the Zoning Office in connection with the Zoning Ordinances and amendments thereto; hearing and making decisions on special exceptions; and authorizing variances from the terms of the Zoning Ordinance, as permitted by the Municipalities Planning Code.

For a Zoning Hearing Board application, please click here.

The Zoning Hearing Board meets on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 7:00 PM, as needed.

Current Board Members:
Michael Beebie, alternate
Steven Goldblum
Kevin Flanagan
Michael McNally
David M. Shafkowitz, Esquire (Zoning Solicitor)